The Story of Logan Spencer

Blog Assignment: Project

Many of you have or have had mashup project in your one of your classes. Blog about this process. Share the processes you used, experiences you had, trials you’ve overcome, etc… Share with us your work in progress or a finished work if you have it.

Mixing & mashups are something I have been doing as a club DJ for years now.  What seems like forever ago, I had a dream to become a DJ/Producer.  I had no idea where to start, just that I knew I loved music and someday I wanted to control music for myself.  I think that’s the hardest part, at least it was for me; where exactly does someone start?  It was after a trip to San Diego, CA with my friends over Memorial Day weekend.  We went out to a club one night and I swear I didn’t leave that dance floor.  At the end of the night I waited to give my praise to the DJ.  When I thanked him for a job very well done he just looked at me and stated, “I saw you out there, you can feel music too… have you ever thought about DJing before?”  
 
When I got home all I could think about was what he told me.  I then realized that the only way I will ever realize my dream is by working for it.  I downloaded the trial version of Virtual DJ and just worked at it.  It was very, very hard at first.  You almost have to retrain the way you listen to music, breaking down the structure. I also had to learn about keys and harmonies, learning about what sounds good together… and what doesn’t.  
 
Once I got the basics down, I then focused on creating an online presence… primarily for support.  It’s not fun to be mixing just for yourself, I wanted to entertain others.  I joined PodOmatic and started sharing my mixes.  Eventually I grew a following, this following provided the support I needed to motivate me.  What was hard eventually became far easier allowing me to learn other skills.  
 
It all became professional when a local area club discovered my DJ facebook page.  They wanted me to become their resident Saturday night DJ.  I was floored!  Fast forward three years later and now I have played at countless clubs, I’m the resident DJ for both Fridays and Saturdays now, I have a following on both facebook and Podomatic… and I am realizing my dream of producing music by going to school at IPR in Minneapolis, MN.
 
Yes, it all starts somewhere… starting is the hardest part!  I included my most recent ‘House-101’ Podcast below.
Leave a Reply

