Blog Assingment Number ONE

First blog: Write a blog about yourself. Who you are, where you’ve come from, and why you are here at IPR.

Hello, my Name is Brandon Butkowski.  I am a 28 year old male that currently lives in St. Paul, MN.  I grew up in St. Michael/Albertville then moved to Fargo, ND for college.  After a few semesters I decided to put school on hold and move back to MN.  Fast forward roughly eight years and I now find myself back in school, at IPR in Minneapolis, MN.  I often get asked, “Why IPR?”  The answer is simple, I LOVE music!

When I was originally going to school at NDSU in Fargo, ND I was pursuing a degree in marketing.  I never truly felt a love for it, in fact I really didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life.  I felt as if I was just going to go.  When I finally came to terms with that I realized what a waste of time, effort and money this was. 

I moved back to MN and chose to focus solely on full-time work until I had a better idea of what I wanted to do with my life.  About four years ago, around 2009, I started to DJ local clubs and bars in the area.  This pushed me further into music, but it was always hard to find the time needed to dedicate myself to music because of my full-time job at AT&T. 

When I lost my job in the summer of 2012 I knew that there was no better time than now to make music my life.  I enrolled into IPR’s audio recording and engineering program and began my journey in the fall of 2012.  Two quarters into the program and I couldn’t be happier.  Unlike NDSU, I have no hesitations or reservations about the path that I am on… I think I made a good choice!

Leave a Reply

